Six Months later…

Well, it’s actually been closer to seven, but as they say, “time flies…”

It’s currently about 32 degrees outside, and the last bits of leaves are clinging to the trees with a tenacity I’ve not known outside of fit-throwing toddlers and oil stains. It snowed for the first time at the house I’m staying at just last Sunday, And it’s starting to feel strangely normal living here (instead of weirdly wonderful). I felt bad that I’ve not posted in so long, so please accept these pictures from various locations as a peace offering:

(All photos are NPS/Public domain, taken with a Nikon D5300 35-145mm lens.)

Above Left: bare branches with a few leaves near the Savage River Trail in Maryland. It was twilight with a lovely, eerie light.

Above Right: The Great Allegheny Passage bridge leading over the Youghiogheny [YAWK-ee-GAIN-ee] river last month in Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania. 

dsc_0476

This is St. Peter’s Roman Catholic Church in Harper’s Ferry, WV. Located in the “V” of the Potomac and Shenandoah rivers, Harpers Ferry (yes, no apostrophe– it’s a weird thing that happens a lot when you have a lot of old names) is a great tourist and historical site. 
dsc_0995

This photo (one of my favorites) I took at the Antietam Creek campsite along the Potomac River/ C&O Canal. Unfortunately it’s a wife shot and doesn’t completely fit in the above format, but no use crying, is it? 

I’ve been applying for jobs like mad, and have a few prospects, but the job market is tougher than steel-coated beef jerky. And yes, I’ve had a lot of caffeine. I love my current intern position– it’s a dream, but the pay will only support a very slim living. But still, I owe so much to this job, and I’ve been the happiest here as I have in a very long time. 


It’s good to know that God’s got my back, and has a plan. It’s all too easy to forget. 

Until later, when I can write a proper post– 

ما سلام!

Leave a comment